LK Griffie writes Children’s Chapter books presenting children with real-life situations they may encounter and helping them to cope with those situations through stories. Some of the topics encountered in her writing are school bullying, step-families, illness/cancer, poverty, autism, and abuse. LK has teamed up with Luke Matthews, Olivia Claire, and Jared Cross to create the Guardian Angel Animal Series, Timmy and the Golden Lion Tamarin. Each book features an adorable animal to help Timmy and his friends solve the issue at hand.

Learn More >>

Middle Grade readers are near and dear to Liana Gardner’s heart. The journey of self-discovery, learning who you are and who you want to be, is a difficult one fraught with emotional peaks and valleys. Casting behind childhood and looking toward adulthood, and yet being caught somewhere in the middle, trying to expand horizons and gain confidence in self. Liana’s work in the Middle Grade arena touches on these areas, as well as the types of situations encountered by this wonderful group. Fitting in, standing out, relationships, bullies, divorce, loss, and more will be found between the pages, overlaid with humor, and sometimes a smidge of magic. Her upcoming project, Seventh Grade Revolution explores a real-life classroom exercise which turns into National Treasure meets The Goonies.

Learn More >>

Liana Gardner’s Young Adult works tend to focus on the darker, more emotional sides of life. In these books she explores, death, grief, heartbreak, abuse, underage drinking, bullying, suicide, rape, censorship, and more. All the things encountered by teens as they navigate their way toward adulthood. In her award-winning Misfit McCabe series, Gardner explores the ramifications of parental death and the emotional aftermath, as well as how Katie McCabe deals with all the changes in her life. Her upcoming project, Speak No Evil, delves into the life of Melody Fisher, a sixteen-year-old in court-mandated therapy for stabbing a classmate.

Learn More >>

LK Griffie / Liana Gardner

LK Griffie is the two-time teen choice award-winning author of the Misfit McCabe series. Daughter of a rocket scientist and an artist, LK Griffie combines the traits of both into a quirky yet pragmatic writer and in everything sees the story lurking beneath the surface. Born in Seattle, WA and raised in southern California, LK is definitely a west coast girl, but loves to travel.

She fostered her love of writing after reading Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women and discovering she had a great deal in common with the character Jo. The making up of stories, dramatic feelings, and a quick temper were enough for her to know she and Jo would have been kindred spirits.

LK volunteers with high school students through the International Trade Education Programs (ITEP). ITEP unites business people and educators to prepare students for a meaningful place in the world of tomorrow. Working in partnership with industry and educators, ITEP helps young people “think globally and earn locally.”

  • Misfit McCabe (Pearson Prize Teen Choice Award 2009)
  • Nowhere Feels Like Home (Pearson Prize Teen Choice Award 2010)
  • Tattered
  • Diary of a Misfit (“Current Event,” a short story in Diary of a Misfit, was featured in the Story Chairs project, an audio installation featuring the work of 32 writers, musicians, and readers.)

Currently LK is working on a chapter book series, with creator Luke Matthews and co-authors Olivia Claire and Jared Cross, entitled Timmy and the Golden Lion Tamarin. In addition to the children’s book series, she is working on a Middle Grade series which will be released under the name Liana Gardner, with the first book titled, The Star Warriors and the Secret of the Red Key. Her most recent YA novel, Speak No Evil, will also be released under the name Liana Gardner.